top of page
Search
  • ethicureansinfo

Max Harley Taylor

Who are you?

I'm Max Harley Taylor (he/him), a freelance illustrator, games journalist and musician based in Cardiff.

Personal IG: @maxharleytaylor

My partner Hope posts loads of vegan food: @hopeamyp


What does veganism mean to you ?

To me veganism means leading a lifestyle conscious of your place in the world and the impact you have on it and it has on you. That fact that veganism not only benefits the lives of animals, the natural world and your personal health but exists within such a vibrant global community makes it more than just an ethical dietary choice. My empathy for the wellbeing of animals is what first turned me to vegetarianism as a child and in turn veganism as I became more aware of other exploitative industries, but this lifestyle has become something so much more vital and enriching to my life, introducing me to new friends, new creative outlets and an entirely new world of food.


How and when did you start to cook?

My parents have been vegetarian since before I was born and fairly recently turned vegan when I introduced them to veganism. Growing up I would help my parents and my Oma to cook so I learnt a lot from them. Since turning vegan around 3 years ago I've found my love of cooking to be reinvigorated. My partner is a fantastic cook so she has taught me so much and sharing veganism and cooking with her has remained central to our relationship.


What is your best food related memory?

I visited Tokyo in June of 2018 with my partner and we ate so much incredible vegan food. That whole trip was full of fantastic food memories but the ramen at Kyushu Jangara Ramen was definitely a standout, as was the food at KiboKo where we ate our last night as we cosied up and reminisced about the trip.


What is the last thing you ate?

I had homemade mushroom and tofu Gyoza for dinner last night and then again for lunch today and they were delicious.


Any all time favourite eatery/restaurant/cook?

Acorn in Bath is an incredible plant-based restaurant that I would recommend to everyone, vegan or otherwise.


In your creative practice, any challenge that you had to overcome in terms of veganism?

Apart from making sure I source sustainable art materials, no particular challenges come to mind. Veganism has definitely been influential in my creative process though. Much of my work is themed around animals, plant life and other aspects of the natural world and as part of the vegan community, I have found myself collaborating with and creating commission work for fellow vegans and vegan businesses.




Max Taylor's recipe


Korean Enoki Mushroom Pancakes


Ingredients:

- Enoki Mushrooms (1 pack)

- Carrot (1)

- Flour

- White onion (1)

- Chinese chives (handful)

- Garlic powder (1 tsp)

- Five Spice (1/2 tsp)

- Oat Milk

- Apple cider vinegar (1 tbsp)

- Baking Powder (1 tsp)

- Salt & Pepper (pinch)


Instructions:

- Thinly slice the carrot, onion and chives into long strips

- Separate the mushrooms

- Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, five-spice

- Mix together in a bowl with oat milk, flour, baking powder and apple cider vinegar until you get a thick paste-like batter and you can form a loose pancake shape.

- Fry in a pan until crispy.

- Serve with a mixture of soy sauce, sesame seeds and brown sugar blended into a dipping sauce.










28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page