top of page
Search
  • ethicureansinfo

Lou Oates

Who are you? (how do you identify, what do you do, where are you based, instagram handle,  feel free to answer as you wish ) 


Hi my name is Lou and I am a plant based chef and herbalist. My instagram handle is @lauralouiseoates


What does veganism mean to you ? 


Veganism is my gateway to understanding and building my belief that all living beings should be free from all forms of oppression. 


How and when did you start to cook? 


I have been cooking for as long as I can remember. As soon as I was able I was experimenting with whatever food  or ingredients I could get my hands on. When I was 15 when I took my first position in a kitchen and largely was absent from school studies in order to work as many hours as I could.


What is your best food related memory? 


That is a tough question. I have spent most of my life working in kitchens and with food.  I feel as though I have so many great memories, as well as many extremely difficult ones. However the reason why I am still here today doing the same thing is the "spirit" of food. But to answer the question ; it is when I have been able to bring people together to share a meal. There is something so special about a small gathering of friends and sometimes strangers that come together. I have hosted many seasonal dinners and I can truly say that is where I have found most happiness.


What is the last thing you ate?


A plate of vegetable crudite with beet and horseradish dip 


Any all time favourite eatery/restaurant/cook? 



In your creative practice, any challenge that you had to overcome in terms of veganism? 


I am fortunate that the vegan culinary industry is quickly growing and evolving. I am able to integrate veganism into my creative practice seamlessly



Lou's TAHINI CHEESECAKE (vegan) PREP TIME: 1 HOUR + SOAKING TIME FOR NUTS (8 hours) YIELD : 1 cake Author: Laura Louise Oates Email: lauralouiseoates@gmail.com Instagram @lauralouiseoates Rarely a day goes by when I do not eat something laced with Tahini. With all this extra time on my hands I have really been able to up my intake. There are many healthful benefits to cramming as many sesame seeds into one's diet as possible, not to mention them being packed with minerals, essential fats, protein, fibre and B vitamins. They are a truly wondrous superfood and one that many of us have hiding in our pantry. I usually make my graham cracker crust from scratch, however here I have used store bought for ease and speed. TAHINI CHEESECAKE INGREDIENTS 4 cups raw cashews - soaked overnight or for 8 hours, rinsed and drained 1⁄2 cup tahini 1⁄2 cup agave (can sub maple syrup) 1⁄4 cup oat milk (can sub any non dairy milk) 1⁄4 cup lemon juice 1⁄2 teaspoon salt 2 teaspoon vanilla extract 1⁄2 cup coconut oil, melted 1 tablespoon black sesame seeds 1 tablespoon white sesame seeds CRUST INGREDIENTS 250g (1 packet ) digestive biscuit crumbs, finely ground 1⁄3 cup sugar (white, turbinado, or coconut) 1⁄3 cup coconut oil, melted (you can substitute for melted vegan butter) GARNISH (OPTIONAL) 1 teaspoon maldon or pink himilayan salt agave or maple syrup to taste

DIRECTIONS Preheat the oven to ​180C

  1. To make the crust : Place the graham crackers into a zip lock bag. Use a rolling pin to wack repeatedly until the crackers turn into fine crumbs ; or you can pulse in a food processor.

  2. Pour the crumbs into a bowl and add the sugar and melted coconut oil or vegan butter. Stir until all ingredients are fully incorporated

  3. Line an 8′′ or 9′′ springform cake tin with parchment

  4. Press the mixture evenly into the bottom of the cake tin. Bake the crust for 7 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool.

  5. To make the cheesecake filling : Place all ingredients EXCEPT coconut oil into high speed blender

  6. Blend the mixture on high, scraping the sides down regularly.

  7. Add coconut oil and continue to blend.

  8. Slowly pour mixture into cake pan. Use an offset spatula to smooth the surface. Do not worry if the surface is not perfectly smooth.

  9. Sprinkle the sesame seeds evenly on the top of the cheesecake.

  10. Place in the freezer for at least 2 hours.

  11. Remove from the freezer an hour before you would like to devour.

  12. With an offset spatula gently loosen the cake from the cake pan.

  13. Serve yourself a hefty slice, sprinkle with maldon and drizzle with a little maple or agave.

  14. ENJOY!!!


76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page