top of page
Search
  • ethicureansinfo

El Bernardes


Who are you?

Hey my name is El and I’m currently living in Zurich, Switzerland. I am a tattoo artist and you can check out my work on my Instagram @eltattoo

What does veganism mean to you ?

I have only been a vegan for a couple of months now but I’ve been a vegetarian for many years and I’m so happy I finally made that change. I’m vegan for the animals. The whole industry is so disgustingly cruel and unnecessary. It’s a kinder way to live, it’s healthy and it’s great for the environment, seems pretty straightforward to me.

How and when did you start to cook?

I’ve been cooking since I was a teenager, my mum is a great cook and when I was young she would show me how to cook a few simple dishes. When I was in university I was also working full time and as I wasn’t living with my parents I then finally really started to appreciate every decent meal I had! I learnt to eat all sorts of new things and from there on I also started trying new recipes. I really enjoy cooking. I find it very satisfying seeing someone enjoy a meal I prepared for them.

What is your best food related memory?

I don’t think I have one in particular. Having Sunday lunch with my family is something I think I’ll always enjoy

What is the last thing you ate?

Instant noodles for lunch LOL

Any all time favourite eatery/restaurant/cook?

I don’t think I have a favourite but I have a few I’ve enjoyed. Hiltl – Zurich, The swing kitchen - Bern & Vienna, Space burger – Vienna, Temple of Seitan – London

In your creative practice, any challenge that you had to overcome in terms of veganism?

Not particularly? None that I can think of right now.








El Bernardes Vegan Fried Eggs - makes 4 eggs


FOR THE EGG YOLK

1 Tbsp vegan dried instant mashed potatoes

½ tsp nutritional yeast

A pinch turmeric (for colour)

¼ tsp kala namak salt

½ tsp potato starch

40ml hot water

½ tsp vegan margarine or ½ tsp refined pure coconut oil

½ tsp sunflower or canola oil (not olive oil, as that would alter the taste)


(The ratio of water/liquid versus the potato flakes or powder that you find may differ (reason being that brands and textures differ in the dried potatoes, some need less water), so you may need to slightly adjust this, i.e. a little more potato powder/flakes may need to be added.)


Mix all ingredients and until consistency resembles hard-boiled egg yolk. It should be thick in consistency. Combine ‘yolk’ mix really well. With clean hands, form yolk sized balls in the palms of your hands then cut in half and save for later.


FOR EGG WHITES

4 oz silken tofu (112 g), tofu

1 ½ tablespoons rice flour

2 tablespoons filtered water, cold

½ teaspoon kala namak, Himalayan black salt

1 tablespoons full-fat coconut milk or plant based cream


In a blender, combine the tofu, rice flour, water, black salt, coconut milk/cream and kosher salt. Blend until completely smooth (add a little more water if needed, if you think it’s too grainy). Heat 2 teaspoons of canola oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Pour about 1½-2 tablespoons of the egg white mixture into the skillet. Spread around slightly to get an ‘egg white’ shape. Place a yolk, flat side down, on the white. Cover the skillet with a lid and reduce the heat to low. Cook for 3-4 minutes, until the edges of the white are very lightly browned and the yolk is warmed through. Repeat with remaining white and yolks, adding more oil to the pan as needed.

Season the “eggs” lightly with salt and pepper, then serve. Enjoy!








160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page